Display: A A A Contact  | Links
Enabling Clinical and Translational Research

MMI Clinical & Translational Research Scholars Programme: PhD studentship available at UCC

Date Posted: 4 Oct 2011
Start Date: 4 Oct 2011
Closing Date: 24 Oct 2011

A unique cross-institutional PhD programme, integrated with industry and clinical research centres, which will prepare graduates for careers in industry, academic medical centres and as biomedical entrepreneurs.

An additional scholarship has become available on the MMI Clinical & Translational Research Scholars Programme for 2011. The successful candidate will be based in University College Cork.
The MMI CTRSP is funded through Cycle 5 of the Government's Programme for Research in Third-Level Institutions, and co-funded under the European Regional Development Fund. The MMI Clinical & Translational Research Scholars Programme (CTRSP) is a unique cross-institutional programme which will develop graduates with knowledge and skills to pursue disease-focused research and bridge gaps between basic scientists, clinical scientists and industry.
Year 1 comprises taught modules and placements in industry, in academic research labs and in clinical research facilities. Scholars will then select PhD projects in areas including drug discovery, discovery/validation of biomarkers and patient-oriented research in clinical research facilities.
This programme is developed with and includes significant involvement of industry and of the Irish Medicines Board. Industry partners include Amgen, Creganna-Tactx Medical, Merrion Pharmaceuticals, Medtronic, Opsona, and Pfizer.
High-calibre candidates holding a first-class or upper second-class honours (> or equal to 3.08 GPA) degree in an appropriate discipline are encouraged to apply.
The successful candidate will be expected to begin the PhD programme immediately.
Further details and application procedure at: http://www.molecularmedicineireland.ie/ctrsp
The deadline for receipt of applications is 5pm, Monday 24 October 2011.


Last Updated: 4 Oct 2011